Skip to primary navigation Skip to content Skip to footer
Back to Blog

The Seven Hills, the geographical heart of Rome

Talking about the history of Rome means talking about Seven Hills, because they are intertwined with the foundation of Rome, the original delimitation of the citys limits and its consolidation of power over time.

They form the geographical heart of Rome, within the walls of the city.

Romulus and Remus founded the city on the Palatine Hill on April 21, 753 BC, and that the seven hills were first occupied by small settlements that were not grouped. The seven hills’ denizens began to interact, which began to bond the groups.

The city of Rome came into being as these separate settlements acted as a group, draining the marshy valleys between them and turning them into markets.

In the early 4th century BC, the Servian Walls were constructed to protect the seven hills.

The seven hills are:

  • Aventine Hill (Aventinus, Aventino)
  • Caelian Hill (Cælius, Celio)
  • Capitoline Hill (Capitolinus, Campidoglio)
  • Esquiline Hill (Esquilinus, Esquilino)
  • Palatine Hill (Palatinus, Palatino)
  • Quirinal Hill (Quirinalis, Quirinale)
  • Viminal Hill (Viminalis, Viminale)

Nowdays, the Capitoline Hill is the location of Rome’s city hall, the Palatine Hill is part of the main archaeological area and the other five are the sites of monuments, buildings, and parks.